Time passes, or rather, it flies.

The other day I was remembering a key point in my life. A time of serious health issues involving surgeries that could have taken my life. During that phase of life The Lord taught me some things, many of which played a large part in making me who I am today. While considering that time in my life it dawned on me that in another month a dozen years will have passed since my first surgery. A dozen years!

Where did those twelve years go? Well, they were spent, they were used, and they were lived.

Time passes whether we are living or wasting our life. We cannot go back and relive our yesterdays. We do not know how many tomorrows are left. What we do have is today, this very moment in time. Life and time is a precious commodity and should not be wasted, rather, as said in Ephesians 5:16 we need to be “Redeeming the time, because the days are evil.”.

Often life is wasted instead of being lived. There are many ways we can and often do waste moments of life. They are wasted in anger toward a child when she spills juice after trying to be a big girl by pouring it herself. Time and life is wasted stressing over school, work, illness in the family, buying a home. We waste moments in anger toward a driver who pulls out in front of us only to drive excruciatingly slow (who knows, God may have been keeping us out of an accident).

Time passes. Time flies. Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow is not yet here. The only moment of time we are guaranteed is this precise moment.

Are you living today?

4 thoughts on “Living Today

  1. Thank you so much for commenting on my post. I am following you now and will follow your social media too. I hope you’ll follow me also.
    Congratulations on publishing your books. That’s a great accomplishment. Way to seize the moment and live it to the fullest.
    http://runwright.net/

    Like

Leave a Reply

